Five Sentence Fiction: Foggy

I plummeted, yes, that’s the only word for it, I plummeted through the thick and chill early morning air unravelling coils of mist that attempted to snare me as I fell. Buffeted and pummelled, I felt goose-pimples erupt across my exposed skin, and there was time enough to feel my damp hair whip back and forth in the funnel of turbulence left in my wake.
I closed my eyes.
My body shrieked and my mind fogged as I smacked into the water, and panic rose like a phoenix from ashes, and as I swirled down, embraced, welcomed by the depths of the lake, I wondered…for the first time, I wondered.
Had it really been a good idea to pack so many pebbles into so many pockets?

Photograph by Lisa Shambrook
10 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction: Foggy

  1. Stephanie

    The descriptions are rich and full of life. I love the line 'and panic rose like a phoenix from ashes.' I also love the bit of humor in the last line. Great picture too!!

    Reply
  2. Sif Dal

    Yeowch! I love "I plummeted through the thick and chill early morning air unravelling coils of mist that attempted to snare me as I fell." Beautiful language and imagery!

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you...

