55 Words #33: The Graveyard Train

The train’s cold, hard, easy-to-clean stainless steel fittings were a godsend. My stop approached and I clutched my bulging bag on clenched knees. The bag jerked, I held it close; beating hearts were such a pain, but I needed at least one for the wife…who waited patiently beneath the swirling fog of headstone seventy three.
(55 Words)
Written for the 55 Word Challenge. Choose a picture (or two if you want to overachieve!) and write a story using no more than 55 words.
6 thoughts on “55 Words #33: The Graveyard Train

  1. Lisa Shambrook

    Thank you for your lovely comments! I got an Overachiever award (for using two of the three photo prompts) for this week's 55 Words!…and KR, I'm hoping you don't carry beating hearts in a bag on the Metro…or if you do…um…

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you...

