Monday Mixer: A Somnolent Surprise…

Photograph by Bekah Shambrook (Please do not use)
A Somnolent Surprise
I sighed, dandelion clocks, the bane of my life, no sooner than I eradicated every blighter, an errant, fluffy orb emerged in the grass. So, with billhook en garde, I moved carefully. Any breath, the faintest zephyr, and seeds would fly.    
I slipped to my knees, leaned close, and just as the knife touched the stem, the seed-head blenched
I stared, shaking my head, my insular world blown in one fell swoop. 
Parachuting seeds scattered as another sigh left my lips, this one a gale in the world of the tiny winged creature clinging to the dandelion stem. As I stared, thoughts flew, each more fantastical than the next. Bold flashing eyes gazed back, and I watched as the fairy unsheathed a tiny sword. Unable to resist, I leaned closer and the diminutive blade, emitting a somnolent hum, pierced my eye…  “Why, you…little…” and my legs collapsed as I yawned…
(150 Words)
Decided that less is more for this week’s Monday Mixer at The Latinum Vault, though I’ve still incorporated five words, so Over Achiever still possible… Go and take a look at the other entries…see how many words you can weave into a 150 word exact tale!
12 thoughts on “Monday Mixer: A Somnolent Surprise…

  1. lizzie loodles

    I'm not a gardener and love dandelions when they're all white and fluffy (sorry). Cheeky little fairy too which I adore. Another gorgeous piece with a fun ending . . of sorts 😉 xx

    Reply
  2. K R Smith

    That reminds me – I have to spray the yard with some Fairy-B-Gone. This is one of those bits that could actually work into a longer story – it sort of flashed through my head as I was reading this.Very nice! And it used some of the words I had a problem with – like "blenched".

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you...

