Phenomena: The Shimmering Star

Create an original superhero with an extraordinary tale…is the brief for Samantha Geary and Audiomachine‘s Epic Hero Event: Phenomena.

The story is inspired by Audiomachine’s ‘Fortress of Solitude’ which will be available on their new album ‘Phenomena’ released on May 6th 2014.

To enhance your enjoyment of my story please listen to the track while you read…

The Shimmering Star*

Dusk

Photograph by Lisa Shambrook (Please do not use without permission)

 

(1151 Words)

 

*Author’s Note: 

This story has been removed as I have reworked it for a story included in A Symphony of Dragons. I loved this story so much and knew I wanted to work on it. It has entwined with my wip (work in progress) which will become The Seren Stone Chronicles… 

You can read the brand new version of this story The Legend of the Seren Stone within A Symphony of Dragons. You can find this enchanting book of short stories in many outlets in both paperback and eBook or at my publisher BHC Press.

(However you can still find and read the original version in the comments on Samantha Geary’s Epic Hero Event: Phenomena.)

 

11 thoughts on “Phenomena: The Shimmering Star

  1. Nick Johns

    Enchanting Lisa, as always. I am continually beguiled by the lyrical quality in your writing. You have a beautifully distinct style and voice, set about with wistful, Celtic magic.

    Reply
  2. echoesofthepen

    As others have said, absolutely beautiful; it put me in mind of a beautiful poem, but in prose form, and the way you incorporated your love and appreciation of countryside and the mountains with such stunning imagery really brought it all to life in spectacular fashion.

    Having read ‘Beneath the Rainbow,’ I can’t say such writing from you surprises me anymore, but it never fails to impress and take my breath away. I’m so pleased that ‘Beneath the Rainbow’ wasn’t just an inspired ‘one off’, and that you’re continuing to write in such an inspired way…

    Reply
  3. Sarah Aisling

    This was wonderful, Lisa! Sorry I didn’t read sooner, but I never read other entries in a contest until mine is posted. You have such a way with descriptions, truly astounding. It’s easy to lose myself in your words.

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you...

