Life Lessons We Can Learn From Dogs

I was never a dog person,
but that all changed when an eight-week-old
bundle of German Shepherd was placed in my arms.

Life Lessons we can Learn from Dogs - The Last Krystallos

To be honest, it actually took me a couple of weeks to become comfortable with her, but she rested her little puppy head on my feet, and there was no going back. I fell in love. That was almost nine years ago, and she has given our family great joy.

So, here are some lessons we can learn from these most devoted of creatures…

A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than she loves herself – Josh Billings - The Last Krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

Truth. The most unconditional love I have ever experienced has been puppy love, the love of a dog knows no bounds and is pretty much infinite. A dog loves unconditionally and that’s a quality we should emulate as much as we can. I’m not sure we can ever love with as much purity as a dog, but we can try!

When a dog speaks, it is not language but pure feeling given voice – anonymous - The Last Krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

This matches their ability to love. Dogs can’t hide their emotions, they don’t lie. When my dog greets me, leaping up at me with excitement, I know she really is happy to see me. When she’s stolen a packet of biscuits and eaten them all, and left the wrapping torn up on the floor, the look of guilt is right there for all to see. The trust in her eyes gives you everything. There’s an honesty in dogs that many humans don’t ever show.

Your dog will never wake up one day and decide he doesn_t love you anymore… anonymous - The Last Krystallos

© Caitlin Shambrook

Once dogs have given you their heart – it’s yours forever. Treat their love with respect and you will never want for affection. Let’s try and show this kind of love to all those who mean much to us. This trait revolves around love, joy, trust and forgiveness.

I think we are drawn to dogs - george bird evans - The Last Krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

Oh, yes, dogs know how to have fun! They don’t waste time when adventure is on the menu, just watch your pup race across a sandy beach, splash in the ocean or rivers, and lope through shady woodland. They emit pure joy! Watching my Roxy leaping into the air to catch bubbles was a true delight, and I often think I should mirror her abandon and spontaneity and embrace life for all it offers!

Dogs have a way of finding people who need them - Thom Jones - The Last Krystallos

© Bekah Shambrook

Did you ever know how a dog would fill that void you never knew existed? I had no idea how rewarding owning a dog is until I had my own. We can be that for those around us. We can be there, filling empty hearts with friendship, love, and company.

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog - Agnes Repplier - The Last Krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

This quote means a huge amount to me. My favourite poem is Beddgelert by William Robert Spencer and is a poem that makes me weep (and I dare you not to cry when you read it), but if you want pure devotion those words are where you’ll find it, within Gelert’s pure hound heart.
My Roxy sits at the window most of the day, my own personal guard dog, she saves me from the postman, delivery people, neighbours, cats that prowl the neighbourhood, and anything that might attempt entry into the house. She makes me feel safe. Outside, I know if anyone attacked me while she was there, they would have to get through her first. Devotion, loyalty, and trust are huge parts of a dog’s life, and you truly are your dog’s life, you are what they live for. Be worthy.

If we could only emulate a few of dogs’ qualities, we would be better people. We would love unconditionally, trust, guard, and care for each other, with honesty, loyalty, and pure devotion.

A dog’s life is a good life.

7 thoughts on “Life Lessons We Can Learn From Dogs

  1. Julia Lund

    I have friends who love their dogs in the way you describe. After my dad died, it was mum’s two shelties who ensured she got up in the morning and left the house each day, who shared all her private moments of mourning. I understand this bond, see how powerful it is, but for me, I hate the smell, the slobber, the mess. And I don’t want that level of personal space invasion. Perhaps I have no heart …

    Reply
    1. Lisa Shambrook Post author

      Lol, I was exactly the same, and I’m still not keen on other people’s dogs – but mine bewitched me! My Dad has a cat that does the same for him, as your Mum’s dogs did. I’m not even sure I’d ever have another dog, (I’m a cat person) but hubby wanted a dog for so long (he grew up with a dog) that when Roxy got offered to us, I gave in, then fell in love with her!

      Reply
  2. Adele Marie

    As I read this post, this wonderful post, our dog Dante is asleep under the kitchen table, head on my feet. He is a German Shepherd/Collie cross but looks more like a GS. He is our boy, our beautiful canine with an angel`s soul. Whenever one of us cries, he licks our tears away. He is just amazing. xx

    Reply
    1. Lisa Shambrook Post author

      You’re so right, Adele, they know exactly how we’re feeling and all they want is to make us happy ❤ I’ve truly never known love like it.
      GS/collie cross is so pretty too!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Life Lessons we can Learn from Cats | The Last Krystallos

  4. Pingback: More Life Lessons we can Learn from Cats | The Last Krystallos

I'd love to hear from you...

