Free Spirits and Happiness

I yearn for freedom, for open skies, hills to run, and oceans to swim.
I yearn for the ability to drop everything and escape when life gets too much,
and sometimes I do. Sometimes I need to escape.

Free Spirits and Happiness - The Last Krystallos
My own views on mortality herald free-agency as a major part of our existence, and though life and circumstance does its best to trap us, freedom and reaching for our dreams is the key to happiness.

Dryslwyn-Castle-Lisa-The-Last-Krystallos-June-2016

© Lisa Shambrook

What is happiness? There’s a quote which says ‘Happiness is like a butterfly; the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder.’ Henry David Thoreau. Sometimes we put too much into trying to find happiness when we should be enjoying life as it is, reaching for the stars, and supping at life’s great feast. Happiness can be the simplest of things to some, like bare feet on dewy grass, or the riches of life, like an expensive glass of champagne, to another, but it’s the liberty of choice that offers both of these.

Many of us regard things we own as the things which make us happy. I could list a fair few possessions that I love which make me happy, we all could, but what are the most important things?

purple-hearts-free-spirit-the-last-krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

They say when you love something you must set it free ‘If you love something, let it go. If it returns, it’s yours; if it doesn’t, it wasn’t. If you love someone, set them free. If they come back they’re yours; if they don’t they never were.’ (Commonly attributed to Richard Bach)

The-Bird-of-Happiness-the-last-krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

There’s a story I remember as a child, a Swedish tale, retold in a picture book I adored. It told the story of The Bird of Happiness. A little boy loses his kite and is upset at its loss. An old man tells him possession is not happiness. Then tells the children the story of a bird, a beautiful golden bird, and it showers a village with happiness. Everyone was happy, and no one was in need while the bird flew and watched over them. Then one day the people began to worry what would happen if the bird ever left, if it forsake them, and they lost their happiness so they decided to build a cage. It was a fine cage, a magnificent cage of pure gold, and while the bird was asleep they trapped it and shut it in the cage.
Every day people came to see the bird, and it was sad, but no one could see. It refused to eat and its golden feathers dulled, and as it paled and greyed a twilight descended over the town. The people became unhappy, and the only thing that shone was the golden bird cage. The bird grew tired and smaller every day.
Then one day the sun stopped shining and the sad town grew quiet, and a flicker of a flame ignited in the cage. Everybody came to see as the bird burned and the fire in the cage grew and spread. The heat melted the gold and the bird suddenly rose in splendour from its ashes, bigger and more beautiful than ever. It circled and then left the town forever.
The old man told the children the bird disappeared and the townspeople had to begin to find happiness on their own. The bird now flies free and every now and then drops a tear or a feather and lights up someone’s life.

My freedoms are important to me, like the bird of happiness, without the ability to be free, to soar and to fly, I could not be happy.

Eowyn-cage-Aragorn-LOTR-Return-Of-The-King-the-last-krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

In The Lord of The Rings – The Return of the King: Aragorn asks Eowyn, “What do you fear, lady?” and she responds, “A cage.”

Eowyn needed to escape, to be herself, to be a warrior and a fighter, and to reach for her dreams. My happiness lies in my family, foremost, and in nature, in the ability to write and to read and to escape. Perhaps this is why I like motorbikes, and dragons, and I feel like I have the spirit of a cat!

Raven-cat-the-last-krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

I fought for many years to become myself, to spread my wings and to fly. I am forever grateful that my children have learned this truth early. Embrace who you are, embrace what makes you happy, don’t worry about being judged by those around you, they need to find themselves, not worry about who you are!

Lisa-Biker-the-last-krystallos

© Lisa Shambrook

Fight to break those bars, to escape the cage that society places you inside. Your reason for life is you. Know yourself and then you can be the person who lifts and encourages, who inspires and stirs those around you to find themselves too. Be the person who frees others, be the one who cares, be the one who’s there.

Drop your tears and feathers into the lives around you and light up someone’s dark day.

Be happy.

What makes you happy?  

12 thoughts on “Free Spirits and Happiness

  1. Julia Lund

    Lovely post, Lisa. And as for personal happiness, I earn less now that I ever had, my body no longer does what I wish, no longer looks how I’d like and health curbs my ambitions – slows me down. But, I am happier than at any time in my life. I am loved and accepted, despite my many faults and failings.

    Reply
    1. Lisa Shambrook Post author

      Thank you for such a beautiful song, Julia! Sometimes I need reminding that I am loved, but like you, the immaterial things are those that mean the most to me, being loved and accepted are integral to my happiness. xxx

      Reply
      1. Julia Lund

        I need constant reminders too. And they’re all around me if I remember to keep my ears and eyes open to the right whispers and sights. 💜

        Reply
  2. Naomi

    Hi Lisa, missed you yesterday, hope you’re feeling better. Thank you for sharing this post onto the discussion Catherine started; it lead me to some things I used in my lesson!

    I love that passage from Return of the King – Eowyn’s words are amongst the saddest ever and a genuine risk we all run – to stay behind bars until use and old age accept them. How to avoid that is such a difficult challenge.

    What makes me happy is the same as Julia said above – having eyes and ears open to the whispers that we are loved.

    Reply
    1. Lisa Shambrook Post author

      Thank you, Naomi, I miss your lessons so much, they are something essential to me and keep me focused on what’s important… My spiritual self often needs to open its eyes and ears! 💜

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Suggestion Saturday: October 1, 2016 | On The Other Hand

I'd love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.